A Time To Testify

I did it!  I made it through the first three days of my fast, which are the hardest because they were my total food fast days, and came out alive and well.  I knew my God would take care of me through it.  I’m not saying I didn’t get cranky at times, or rather, “hangry”.  I warned my poor boys it would happen, and it did.  That’s when I would take a moment, and really start praying for God to use that time to strengthen me, to give me clarity and to speak to me.  I’m happy to say, no one was injured by my hangry-ness, we all survived.  I’m also happy to report that my cheese omelet and sausage I consumed like a rabid beast this morning were absolutely divine!  Oh, I’m still continuing on the fast, but now I’m fasting other foods.  Foods that I love, and can’t seem to live without.  Sweets, I’m fasting sweets, okay?  That means no Fudge Double Stuff Oreo’s for me.  No chocolate anything.  I can do it though, God will give me the fortitude.

I was pretty sure I would hear from God by the end of the 3rd fasting day.  I was positive He would speak something profound into my spirit.  I even awoke at 3 a.m. this morning, my usual chatting with God time, and I just KNEW He was going to reveal something to me then.  So I prayed some more, and I was quiet and listened, and…I fell asleep.

It happened in the shower of all places.  I was singing in my best Hillsong voice (my guy’s aren’t too fond of my best Hillsong voice by the way), when a word kept flashing before me, over and over.  Testimony. Over and over, I kept seeing it.  What?  Nothing has happened yet, I’m only on the 4th day of my fast, what am I going to use for my testimony?  How about this, how about I talk about what God has done for me in the past?  Hmm…everyone has already heard my testimony about my vocal cords. If you haven’t heard that testimony, you can read about it here.  Amazing as that one is, I hate to keep repeating the same one to the same audience over and over.

Then God helps me remember the other things.  For instance, did you know I almost lost my first born son in child birth?  That’s right, things went terribly wrong, and he almost died, but through the grace of God, he’s alive and well.  Did you know that things went horribly wrong with my second birth?  I lost so much blood, I started having seizures and they wouldn’t even let him stay with me in my room unless someone else was there.  I was scheduled to receive a blood transfusion, but for some reason, the doctor changed his mind, much to the shock of the nurses who let me know they thought that was a mistake.  God took care of me though.  He built my blood supply back up to where it needed to be.  How about the time my youngest, the wild one, tried to take a joy ride in my husbands truck.  He snuck into the truck, knocked it out of gear and it started rolling.  We live at the top of a steep hill, so the truck started rolling backwards, but God sent an angel (that’s the only conclusion we can come up with), an angel who turned the wheel of the truck, backing it perfectly into our neighbor’s driveway, and even into their garage.  Granted, the garage door was closed at the time, but the parking job was still commendable.  His door flew open and he was thrown from the truck, hitting his head on the driveway.  Can you imagine if the truck had rolled one more foot, and he was under it?  I’ve imagined every horrible scenario that could have played out, but it didn’t through the grace of God.  How about finances.  We aren’t rich.  Not even close.  We make it month to month basically, but we are always faithful with our tithes and finances.  When I told my husband years ago that I really felt God was telling me I needed to quit work and stay home with the boys, he didn’t question my sanity.  He supported me fully.  He works extremely hard to provide for our family, and God always evens out our finances.  When we aren’t sure we are going to make it, God is faithful.  And back to my vocal cords, yes, I’ve been healed, I’m talking and singing badly again.  But..did you know that my actual vocal cords are barely moving or functioning?  God has given me a voice, yet not from my vocal cords.  Wow, isn’t that crazy and amazing?  Who but my God can do that.

These are just a few of the moments I remember from my past that I know God was at work on our behalf.  I’m sure there are so many other times He’s been working for me that I’m not even aware of.  It’s the same for you, too.  He’s doing so much good for you.  Maybe you can’t see it right now, but He is.  I’ve had really, really dark days, and come out on the other side stronger and better because I’ve been through those times.

On my 4th day of the fast, I’m filled with the knowledge that this year is going to be blessed.  It’s going to be a wonderful year for me and my family.  God is going to do amazing things for us, yet again.  I’m not saying I’m going to wake up in the morning and find a winning lottery ticket next to my bed (but wouldn’t that be nice?), but I am saying that I know, without a shadow of a doubt, in every fiber of my being, that God has plans for us this year.  That’s what He’s revealed to me.  He’s working in me.  Something is happening.  I don’t know what, I don’t know when, but He’s doing something.  All I have to do is follow His will, and see where He takes me.

Lord, have Your way in me, do Your will, help me to be who You have called me to be and fulfill Your purpose in my life.

Luke 8:39, “Return to your home, and declare how much God has done for you.” And he went away, proclaiming throughout the whole city how much Jesus had done for him.”

Leave a comment