In the Home Stretch…

Acts 4:12, “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”

IMG_3894Here we are folks, in the home stretch of this year’s fasting and praying.  I know I’ve told you there are a LOT of things I’ve been fasting and praying for.  Health situations for me and various family members, doors of opportunity to be opened, revival in our churches, schools, nation and world, different prayer requests from friends, the children in our church and community, the list is a long one.  I know it’s long, but hey, someone once said that not every prayer request I pray will get answered, but 100% of prayers never prayed won’t get answered, so I figure I better cover my bases.

I’ve been saying all through this fast that I truly feel strongly that something big is coming, that God was going to do something awesome, but I didn’t know yet what it could be.  I feel like part of this “something big” took place right before my very eyes this past Sunday morning.

I lead a small group for first grade girls every Sunday morning.  As we were in our class, we were chatting and I brought up salvation.  I talked to these beautiful, precious girls, and asked them if they truly believed in Jesus and loved him.  They looked back at me and nodded with so much faith and trust in their bright and shining eyes.  I asked if there were any girls there that had not yet asked Jesus into their hearts.  Six girls raised their hands, and I asked if that was something they wanted to do, ask Him into their hearts.  Again, with faith and trust shining in their eyes, they said yes, they did.

Then something truly beautiful happened, as our whole class bowed our heads, I had these girls repeat a prayer of salvation.  I was overcome with emotion as every girl in the class said the prayer.  I have led this prayer before, but I had never had a response from this many children in such a small class.  Just this.  If not a single other prayer I fasted over gets answered, this was over and abundantly more than I could have imagined.  Six lives devoted to Jesus now.  Six souls saved.  And think of all the other people these lives will touch as they grow older.  Just think of the people they can lead to Christ.  Just think of the impact they can have in this world, and now they do it in Jesus’ name.

And guess what?  It wasn’t just these six girls who were saved last Sunday.  That very night I received a text from our children’s pastor that another little boy prayed with our church’s pastor and he also received salvation.  Seven!  Seven souls saved that day.  I’m overcome with emotion now, just thinking about it.  How wonderful, how glorious our God is.

We still have a few days of fasting and praying left, and I don’t intend to waste it.  I’m continuing to pray over these children and many others.  I’m continuing my fast and I’m being faithful.  You know why?  Because God’s been faithful to me.  He’s going to continue to be faithful.  He’s going to continue to do great and mighty things.

Thank You Lord, for your faithfulness, for Your love, for your salvation.  I pray over these children, that You continue to do Your works in them and through them.

1 Chronicles 16:34, “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.”

 

Leave a Reply

