What Is Your Quicksand?

quicksandI saw this meme the other day that gave me a good laugh.  It said, “When I was younger I thought that quicksand was going to be a much bigger problem than it is.”  The pictures in the meme depict scenes from various television shows and movies from my youth where hero’s were on the verge of being smothered by quicksand.  It was quite a normal thing in the 80’s (yes, I know, I’m telling my age) for quicksand to be featured in every t.v. show.  I had no doubt that it was out there, somewhere.  When I would play in the woods around my house, I always carried a big stick, not for keeping snakes away, but to poke the ground in front of me to make sure there was no quicksand.

1o9a7708It’s comical now, as I look back, but there’s a little bit of truth in that quicksand too.  I have quicksand in my life now, in several forms.  If any of you are friends with me on facebook, you have seen about my greatest downfall, my greatest addiction, none other than the Chocolate Cream Double Stuff Oreo.  I don’t know what it is about them, but I simply MUST have two after lunch and two after dinner.  Let’s be real here, those things are the bomb!  Chocolate Cream Double Stuff Oreo’s are my quicksand.  There’s absolutely nothing about them that is healthy.  It’s full of sugar, calories, fat and I don’t even WANT to know what else.  They can’t possibly be helping me stay healthy in anyway, and even contribute toward the future possibility of developing some horrible disease like diabetes.  I don’t seem to care though.  I continue eating them with absolute glee.

There are plenty of other things in my life that can be considered quicksand.  I actually love anything with sugar in it.  I love Cokes.  I know, I’m from Georgia, so all soda’s are called Coke here, but Coke is the only KIND of soda I love.  I loved Coke’s so much, and drank so much of that particular quicksand, I developed ulcers.  I now only drink Coke once in a while.  That particular quicksand literally ate holes in my stomach..ouch!  Quicksand is detrimental to all that God has equipped you with, and I’m not just talking about your health.  How about your emotions?  Do you experience jealousy?  Anger?  Bitterness?  Hate?  Loathing?  Depression?  Addiction?  These are all examples of quicksand in our lives.

I have good news, though!  God can clear that quicksand right out of your life?  I drank so many Cokes because of the addiction to caffeine.  I never developed a taste for coffee of any kind, so I had to get my source of caffeine from carbonated beverages.  With the help of God, I was able to easily kick that long-time addiction to caffeine and Cokes.  Right now, I’m on day 8 of our church wide fast.  The first 3 days were the hardest, being a total food fast, and for the rest of the fast, I am giving up all breads and sweets.  That means that addiction I have to those delicious, delectable Oreo’s are being put aside so I can pray and worship my God, and converse with Him.  Guess what?  I can honestly say I’m not missing those cookies.  He’s enough for me.  I don’t feel like I have to run to the pantry and grab some sugary, diabetes inducing snack to get me through.  His grace is sufficient for me.

Whatever your quicksand is, He is more than enough to get you across it.  His grace is more than sufficient for you.  Lay it before Him and let Him take care of it.  Whether your quicksand is junk food, caffeine, alcohol, drugs, depression, anger, bitterness….it doesn’t matter, give it all over to God and let Him be that rope to pull you up out of the quicksand.

Isaiah 58:6, “Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, to let the oppressed go free, and that you break every yoke?”

Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Isaiah 41:13, “For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.'”

Leave a Reply

