A New Year’s Revival

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, I never have.  I think it stems from the fact that, as far as I know, I’ve never met a person who has actually kept a New Years resolution.  Oh, they always start off strong, but somewhere along the way, life happens.  There are too many other things to get in the way of that exercise program, or monitoring that low-fat, low-cholesterol diet.  So, what’s the point of making a resolution that we know we aren’t going to keep?

I am, however, starting my new year off with fasting and prayer.  Prayer for a New Year’s Revival.  I’m talking, a revival of epic proportions, one such as we have never seen in our lifetime.  I’m sure a lot of you have heard about the great revival that went on in 2016 in Burlington, North Carolina.  It was amazing.  It went on and on, more and more people pledging their hearts to God than they ever anticipated.  I would love to see nothing more than a revival which results in more souls to be saved across the globe, than we could possibly imagine.  More people who get to walk those streets of gold with us.

I’m constantly amazed at the cruelty in this world.  The hateful, harsh comments on a news thread.  The acts of violence.  The self-loathing.  This isn’t of God!  These cruel actions come from cold, closed off hearts.  These are actions the enemy is rejoicing in.  It’s up to each of us to bring more light to the world, instead of the darkness inhabiting it now.  I don’t know about you, but when I get to heaven, I don’t want to see a list of people I COULD have made a difference in the lives of, I COULD have prayed for, I COULD have led to Christ, but didn’t.  Rather, I want to hear the words, “Well done my good and faithful servant.”  I want to see people celebrating with me, friends, loved one’s, strangers, and know that I’ve done all I could to serve my God and build His kingdom.

There is a really great way to get a revival of this size kicked off, you can all join me in that prayer.  Pray for a revival to take place in YOU!  That’s right, I said in you.  See, a revival of that size can’t happen unless it starts in each of us, whether we’ve been saved already or not.  I pray for that very thing, a revival in me, in my family, our churches, schools, cities, states, governments, nations, across the entire world.

Psalm 85:6, “Will You not revive us again, that your people may rejoice in You?”

Psalm 80:19, “Restore us, O Lord God of hosts!  Let Your face shine, that we may be saved!”

2 Chronicles 7:14, “If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

James 4:8, “Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you.  Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”

Leave a Reply

