What Is Beauty To You?

_O9A8038.JPGI was admiring one of my flower gardens the other day.  Within a mere two days, I had an explosion of Iris blooms, and they were beautiful against the green backdrop of the surrounding plants.  I’ve always loved flowers, any and all flowers.  Not just for the outward beauty of them, but because they also serve a very useful and necessary purpose, feeding birds and bees.  I could sit for hours and watch the insects buzz around them, feasting on the nectar.

I have four tree stumps in this garden that are low to the ground.  A few years ago the trees had become diseased and we had to have them removed.  I glanced down at one of the stumps and something caught my eye.  There were a couple of spots on top of the trunk that had spores of some kind on them.  Right there, feasting on one of those spots of spores, were five baby snails.

_O9A8037

My breath caught and I ran to grab my camera.  You are probably saying to yourself, “that’s pretty disgusting, why would you want to take a picture of that?”  I know, I’m strange, but I find snails beautiful.  I find them just as beautiful as those irises I was just admiring moments before.  Look at the color in the shells.  Look at the details.  They are perfect in every way.  They were designed in such a specific way for a specific purpose, how can they not be beautiful?  To my eyes, these tiny baby snails are just as beautiful as those purple flowers.

This is how God sees us as well.  We are each designed in His image, how can we not be beautiful?  Just reflecting back on the past few days, my mind became flooded of scenes of insecurity from me and others around me who had moments of doubt about how others see us.  Sunday morning a little girl came up to me at church sporting a new pair of pink glasses.  She tapped me on the arm, looked at me with insecurity and asked in a quiet voice, “Miss Pat, do I look ridiculous in these glasses?” with a frown of worry on her face.  Of course I assured her that she looked beautiful and I love the glasses, but my heart breaks when I see a seven year old child riddled with doubt and insecurities about how others perceive her.

My mind went back to Monday night, where two girls walked near me, and stopped.   One of them commenting to the other that someone told her that another person was ugly.  I was shocked, the way it was worded, I actually thought they were talking about me, and I couldn’t believe that she came so close to me to say it.  I have many insecurities about my appearance now that I have Graves Eye Disease.  I took a moment after hearing her, and then I shrugged it off.  So what if they were talking about me, does it really matter to my life in any way?  My husband thinks I’m beautiful, and more importantly, God says I’m beautiful, so I am.  I don’t know if they were talking about me or not, and in the end I decided it didn’t really matter, but I still had that moment of insecurity at the time.  I’m no better than anyone else when it comes to that issue.

I see teenage girls, and even adult women struggle for acceptance from males.  For some reason, they think their self-worth relies solely on how members of the opposite sex see them.  Why?  Why do they think the only way a male can find them worthy is if they do more and more to put their sexuality out there?  That’s not where your self-worth lies ladies, you are better than that.  You should never be made to feel like you have to be someone you are not just to be accepted by someone.  If that is how that someone makes you feel, then guess what?  That’s his problem, his insecurities that he’s casting on you.  You are a worthy, wonderful, perfect person just the way you are, just the way God created you!

Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

These moments of doubt and insecurity are fed to us by the enemy.  How else can he drive into a downward spiral if he doesn’t start with self-doubt.  He wants to destroy everything good in our lives, and the best way to start with that, is for us to feel insecurity and doubt about ourselves, making us unhappy and depressed. This is not what God wants for us.  He says we are fearfully and wonderfully made.

Psalm 139:14, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well”

God created each and every one of us for a purpose, just as he created the flower to feed the insects and birds, just as he created the snail to dispose of those spores.  Those flowers and snails are perfect and beautiful in every way, and so are you.  Beautiful because you have a purpose.  You have a reason.

Ephesians 2:10, “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

Leave a Reply

