Preparing For Fasting

Our church wide fast kicks off tomorrow.  My plan is total food fast for the first three days, then no sugar or breads throughout the rest of the 21 day fast.  I’ve been preparing for the fast for a little while already.  Preparing as in praying about it.  Asking God to help me focus on Him during this fast, asking Him to help me be strong through out the fast, asking Him to speak to me, use me, reveal things to me, bless me and my family, anoint me and my family, praying for our nation, praying for a revolution causing more souls to be saved in 2017 than we’ve ever seen before, asking Him to give us back the closeness He and I once had.

I have a confession to make…last year, I consciously made a decision NOT to participate in the fast.  I don’t know why I elected not to do it, but I did, and there you have it.  I have another confession…throughout the entire year of 2016, I noticed that I felt almost a disconnection from my closeness that I had at one time with God.  Oh, I still loved Him with all my heart, I still served Him, but I didn’t hear from Him as I once did.  I couldn’t figure out what I had been doing wrong to lose that insight I once had.  I’ve been praying for God to give us that closeness again.

It all came together for me in today’s sermon, as our pastor spoke about giving God our firsts.  That’s what the fast is about.  At the beginning of every year, our church fasts and prays, and we give God our firsts, just as He asks us to do in the Bible.

Exodus 23:19, “You shall bring the choice first fruits of your soil into the house of the Lord your God..”

Proverbs 3:9-10, “Honor the Lord from your wealth and from the first of all your produce; so your barns will be filled with plenty and your vats will overflow with new wine.”

That’s what I did wrong, I didn’t give God my firsts in 2016.  I tithed, I worshiped, I prayed, I served, but I didn’t devote those first few days to praying and talking to Him, to spending time with Him.  That’s where my disconnection from our closeness came from, from my unwillingness to give my firsts of the new year.   

I won’t make that mistake again, my firsts for 2017 belong to God.  I’m excited to begin spending my time with God in the next 21 days.  I can’t wait to see what He has in store for me, my family, my church and my nation.  I can’t wait to just be with my Abba Daddy and share our talks again.  If you are joining in on the fast this year, I want to encourage you.  It’s not easy, especially if you are fasting all food at the beginning as I and many others are, but it IS worth it.  Amazing things can happen through fasting and prayer.  God doesn’t NEED your firsts, you money, time, servitude, but He does want it.  He wants to have the bond with you.  He wants to share with you, to build you up, to love you.  All you have to do is give Him your firsts…

2 Samuel 12:15-17, “And the Lord afflicted the child that Uriah’s wife bore to David, and he became sick.  David therefore sought God on behalf of the child.  And David fasted and went in and lay all night on the ground. And the elders of the house stood beside him, to raise him from the ground, but he would not, nor did he eat food with them.” 

Daniel 10:3, “I ate no pleasant bread, neither came flesh nor wine in my mouth, neither did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.” 

Leave a Reply

