What do the voices call you?

I hope you aren’t like me.  I hear those little voices in my head all the time.  Those hateful, hurtful voices that tell me I’m not worthy or good.

They tell me I’m not enough.  Not enough for my husband, who works so very hard to provide for our family.  They condemn me for not working, not providing that extra income to ease his burden.  Though we made that decision together as a way to have at least one parent home for our children, I have still always carried that guilt with me.  My name is Inferior.

They tell me I’m not enough for my boys, who are becoming men right before my eyes.  I do too much for them, I don’t do enough, will I ever get it right?  Probably not.  My name is Doubtful.

They call me ugly and scarred.  Every time I look in a mirror, or someone snaps a picture of me, they chant to me.  “Look at your eyes!” they tell me.  “See how that Grave’s Eye Disease made them look so horrible?”  “Look at that scar on your throat, how can anyone stand to look at you?”  I see the weight I’ve gained since I had my second son, and they call me fat.  My name is Ugly.

They tell me I’m not a good enough person to teach a group of girls about God.  What makes me so wonderful, so full of knowledge, that I think I have the right to teach little girls God’s word?  Look at the sin in my life, am I really righteous enough to lead?  My name is Unworthy.

Even now, as I write this, I think about my new found love of writing.  The love I have for photography.  The other talents I wish I had.  They tell me I have none.  I have no gifts or talents, so why bother?  My name is Incompetent.

I try and try, but it seems as though I fail at so many things.  My name is Failure.

Do you hear those voices too?  I pray you don’t.  I hear them, I just have to learn not to listen, because they are lying to me.  Those are the voices of the deceiver.  Those voices want me to believe them, they want me to give up.  To stop believing in the love of God.  To stop trusting God that the path He laid for me, which I’m following, is the right path.  To stop relying on God for everything.  But I won’t stop relying on God for everything, because I know that He has, is and will always work in my favor.  I know He loves me as no one else can.  God tells me I have a different name.

God said my name is Child.  Child of the chosen King.  “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.” 1 John 3:1 

My name is Redeemed.  “In Him we have redirection through His blood…” Ephesians 1:7

My name is Love.  “Be completely humble and gentle, be patient, bearing with one another in love.” Ephesians 4:2

My name is Beautiful in Him.  “For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

My name is Daughter.  “And I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.” 2 Corinthians 6:18

My name is Beloved.  “The beloved of the Lord dwells in safety.” Deuteronomy 33:12

My name is Friend.  “..but I have called you friends..” John 15:15

My name is Chosen.   “Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience.” Colossians 

My name is Treasured Possession.   “The Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for His treasured possession, out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth.” Deuteronomy 7:6

My name is Heir.  “And if children, then heirs – heirs of god and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with Him in order that we may also be glorified with Him.” Romans 8:17

My name is Blessed.  “Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts!” Psalm 65:4

My name is Holy and Blameless.  “Even as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before Him.” Ephesians 1:4 

So, what do the voices call you?  Do they shame you?  Belittle you?  Don’t listen, they are lying and deceiving you.  Listen to the beautiful names that God calls you instead.  He created YOU.  He chose YOU.  He loves YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

